About the FEI World Cup™ Finals Omaha 2017

The Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping & FEI World Cup™ Dressage Finals is an annual indoor equestrian world championship that is considered the most prestigious competition in the sport, outside of the Olympics and World Equestrian Games. Bringing global recognition to Omaha, the World Cup is an opportunity to promote our arts and entertainment to all 50 states and over 15 countries.

First held in 1986, the FEI World Cup™ Dressage Final features the world's best dressage horses and riders. A total of 31 Finals have been held through 2016, and the United States has won the championship twice - in 2003 (Debbie McDonald with Brentina) and 2009 (Steffen Peters with Ravel). The Final has been held in the U.S. in Los Angeles (1995) and Las Vegas (2005, 2007, 2009, 2015).

Started in 1979, the FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final is an annual international showdown among the world's best show jumping horses and riders. In the 38 Finals held through 2016, Germany (10) and the United States (9) have emerged with the most titles. Previous FEI World Cup™ Jumping Finals held in the United States include Baltimore (1980), Tampa (1989), Del Mar, CA (1992) and Las Vegas (2000, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2015).

The FEI World Cup™ is a global event with global implications.

Host cities since 2000 include:

  • Kuala Lumpur (MAS)

  • Gothenberg (SWE)

  • Las Vegas, Nevada (USA)

  • Geneva (SWI)

  • Leipzig (GER)

  • S’Hertogenbosch/Amsterdam (NED)

  • Lyon (FRA)

  • Omaha, Nebraska (USA)

Countries Competing at the 2015 World Cup:

  • Australia                         

  • Belgium

  • Brazil

  • Canada

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Mexico

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Qatar

  • Russia

  • Spain

  • Switzerland

  • USA

FEI World Cup™ Dressage Champions



1986   Anne-Grethe Jensen   DEN   Marzog

1987   Christine Stückelberger   SUI   Gaugin de Lully

1988   Christine Stückelberger   SUI   Gaugin de Lully

1989   Margit Otto-Crepin   FRA   Corlandus

1990   Sven Rothenberger   GER   Andiamo

1991   Kyra Kyrklund   FIN   Matador

1992   Isabell Werth   GER   Fabienne

1993   Monica Theodorescu  GER Ganimedes

1994   Monica Theodorescu  GER   Ganimedes

1995   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Bonfire

1996   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Bonfire

1997   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Bonfire

1998   Louise Nathhorst   SWE   LRF Walk on Top

1999   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Gestion Bonfire

2000  Anky van Grunsven   NED   Gestion Bonfire

2001   Ulla Salzgeber   GER   Rusty

2002   Ulla Salzgeber  GER   Rusty

2003   Debbie McDonald   USA   Brentina

2004   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Gestion Salinero

2005   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Keltec Salinero

2006   Anky van Grunsven   NED   Keltec Salinero

2007   Isabell Werth   GER   Warum Nicht FRH

2008   Anky van Grunsven   NED   IPS Salinero

2009   Steffen Peters   USA   Ravel

2010   Edward Gal   NED   Moorlands Totilas

2011   Adelinde Cornelissen   NED   Jerich Parzival

2012   Adelinde Cornelissen   NED   Jerich Parzival

2013   Helen Langehanenberg   GER   Damon Hill NRW

2014   Charlotte Dujardin   GBR   Valegro

2015   Charlotte Dujardin   GBR   Valegro

2016   Hans-Peter Minderhoud   NED Glock’s Flirt

FEI World Cup™ Show Jumping Champions


1979   Hugo Simon   AUT   Gladstone

1980   Conrad Homfeld   USA   Balbuco

1981   Michael Matz   USA   Jet Run

1982   Melanie Smith   USA   Calypso

1983   Norman Dello Joio   USA   Love You

1984   Mario Deslauriers   CAN   Aramis

1985   Conrad Homfeld   USA   Abdullah

1986   Leslie Burr Lenehan   USA   McLain

1987   Katharine Burdsall   USA   The Natural

1988   Ian Millar   CAN   Big Ben

1989   Ian Millar   CAN   Big Ben

1990   John Whitaker   GBR   Milton

1991   John Whitaker   GBR   Milton

1992   Thomas Frühmann   AUT   Genius

1993   Ludger Beerbaum   GER   Ratina Z

1994   Jos Lansink   NED   Libero H

1995   Nick Skelton   GBR   Dollar Girl

1996   Hugo Simon   AUT   E.T.

1997   Hugo Simon   AUT   E.T.

1998   Rodrigo Pessoa   BRA   Baloubet du Rouet

1999   Rodrigo Pessoa   BRA   Baloubet du Rouet

2000  Rodrigo Pessoa   BRA   Baloubet du Rouet

2001   Markus Fuchs   SUI   Tinka's Boy

2002   Otto Becker   GER   Dobel's Cento

2003   Marcus Ehning   GER   Anka

2004   Bruno Broucqsault   FRA   Dileme de Cephe

2005   Meredith M.-Beerbaum   GER   Shutterfly

2006   Marcus Ehning   GER   Sandro Boy

2007   Beat Mändli   SUI   Ideo du Thot

2008   Meredith M.-Beerbaum   GER   Shutterfly

2009   Meredith M.-Beerbaum   GER   Shutterfly

2010   Marcus Ehning   GER   Plot Blue & Noltes Küchengirl

2011   Christian Ahlmann   GER   Taloubet Z

2012   Rich Fellers   USA   Flexible

2013   Elizabeth “Beezie” Madden   USA   Simon

2014   Daniel Deusser   GER   Cornet d’Amour

2015   Steve Guerdat   SUI   Albfuehren’s Paille

2016   Steve Guerdat   SUI   Corbinian